Nurse Loan Repayment

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

It’s never too early for registered nurses and nurse practitioners working in a HPSA to start applying for Federal Loan Forgiveness dollars.

The Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) will begin accepting new applications from “advance practice” nurses later this year. The two-year program that willremove as much as 60 percent of their qualified nursing school debt. Nurses who receive awards agree to work at an approved location inside of a Health Professional Shortage Area (HPSA.)

HRSA published an overview of the program here.

To be eligible, a registered nurse, nurse practitioner or other “advanced practice” nurse must work at a qualified facility that operates inside of a HPSA.

Health care facilities include:

  1. Critical Access Hospital
  2. Disproportionate Share Hospital
  3. Public Hospital
  4. Federally Qualified Health Center (FQHC)
  5. Indian Health Service Health Center
  6. Native Hawaiian Health Center
  7. Rural Health Clinic
  8. Skilled Nursing Facility (SNF)
  9. State or Local Public Health or Human Services Department
  10. Ambulatory Surgical Center
  11. Home Health Agency
  12. Hospice Program
  13. Nonprofit, Non-Disproportionate Share Hospital
  14. Nursing Home

In order to be eligible, the facility must be in an active Health Professional Shortage Area, or HPSA. To search for a HPSA, search here.

  • Share this post

Previous Article Cash Discounts and Sliding Fee Scales
Next Article There's Money in Simplicity


© HPSA Acumen Inc. All Rights Reserved.